Charity begins at home

A lot of people have been asking me why I run..my answer, why not!

I think I have always had a love for running. As a kid, I was very thin (pity thats no longer the case) so this made it very easy and it helped with another sports I loved so much-hockey.

My dad used to call me “Maphephuka” which loosely translated means “the one that gets blown away”. But hips and a pot belly have ruined my chances of being a swimsuit model now

Fast forward to 2 and a half years ago when I ran my first 3kms after a long break and almost died (Did I mention it felt like someone was choking me?). But why did I decide to run again?

Well simply out of sibling rivalry. My little brother (as I like to call him even though Im only a year older) was walking around like he owned the world after he finished his first marathon and I needed to wipe that smirk off his face (I still haven’t managed to though as he still is better than me).

My younger brother is really good at a lot of things and I admire him for that. When he puts his mind to something, he goes all out, no matter what. He also has the ability to make even the hardest things (like finishing the Comrades ultra marathon twice) look like a walk in the park. Secretly (please don’t tell him this), I’ve always looked up to him,( both figuratively and literally) as he is much taller than I am.  Even since then, he has been my “coach” and my go to for running advice. His comments are often witty but he is very encouraging and I’m sure that on the day of my race he will be my biggest supporter.

So when he started running and I was watching him be a better and healthier version of himself, I had to join in on the fun. I did my first half marathon with him and even though I arrived a good hour after him, he looked like he was proud. Now both my older sister and brother run (some more than others). My sister did her first marathon with me and its been lovely been able to run with the support of your family and friends.

Speaking of support, have you made your donation yet?

https://gogetfunding.com/1sttimers/

http://www.comrades.comkwe-and-sine

Leave a Reply

